NRL Grand Final Review

NRL Grand Final Review

The NRL Grand Final is the most anticipated game of Rugby League in Australia every year and over the years the do-or-die decider of the season has produced some very memorable moments!

After 26 intense rounds of footy held throughout autumn and winter, the NRL Telstra Premiership competition moves into the thrilling finals showdowns that leave just two teams ready to do battle for the Premiership title, shield and spot in the history books.

Each season the NRL Grand Final takes place on the first Sunday in October at ANZ Stadium in Sydney and record attendances fuelled by the passion of the players makes it the game to bet on!

Below we do a brief NRL Grand Final review detailing some of the milestones of the make-or-break match of the Rugby League season.

If reading about the great history of NRL Grand Finals makes you revved up and ready to back your favourites for the 2010 NRL Grand Final on Sunday October 3, then head over to and lock in the top odds!

NRL Grand Final Review 1998 – 1999

1998: First NRL Grand Final and last to be played at the Sydney Football Stadium. Won by the Brisbane Broncos (38) over the Canterbury Bulldogs (12).

1999: The 1999 NRL Grand Final draws a record Rugby League game attendance of 107,999 spectators. Won by the Melbourne Storm (20) over the newly merged St George Illawarra Dragons (18).

2005: Record audience of over four million viewers watched the 2005 NRL Grand Final. Won by the Wests Tigers (30) over the North Queensland Cowboys (16).

2006: First NRL Grand Final in history where two teams outside of NSW played. Won by the Brisbane Broncos (15) over the Melbourne Storm (8). First Grand Final appearance by star Melbourne fullback Billy Slater.

2008: Manly Sea Eagles set the record for the highest winning NRL Grand Final margin when they defeated the Melbourne Storm 40 – nil.

NRL Grand Final Facts

Where: ANZ Stadium, Sydney

When: First Sunday in October

Time: Kick-off approx. 4pm

Broadcast: Live to every state in Australia on Channel 9

Best Betting: Online at or

NRL Grand Final Winners

Year Winner Runner-Up Score


*Melbourne Storm

Parramatta Eels 23 – 16


Manly Warringah Sea Eagles

Melbourne Storm 40 – 0


*Melbourne Storm

Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles 34 – 8


Brisbane Broncos

Melbourne Storm 15 – 8


Wests Tigers

North Queensland Cowboys 30 – 16


Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs

Sydney Roosters 16 – 13


Penrith Panthers

Sydney Roosters 18 – 6


Sydney Roosters

New Zealand Warriors 30 – 8


Newcastle Knights

Parramatta Eels 30 – 24


Brisbane Broncos

Sydney Roosters 14 – 6


*Melbourne Storm

St George Illawarra Dragons 20 – 18


Brisbane Broncos

Canterbury Bulldogs 38 – 12

* Melbourne Storm were stripped of all their NRL Premiership’s in 2010 after a major salary cap rort in the club was uncovered.